Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
Antonio Bacelar da Silva's picture
Antonio Bacelar da Silva
Assistant Professor, Center for Latin American Studies & Affiliated Assistant Professor, School of Anthropology
Email: ajbsilva@email.arizona.edu

I teach LAS 230 Latin America: Food and Culture, which explores how food makes up a significant part of the culture, binding people together into national communities. Based on the premise that food is central to cross-cultural studies of behavior, thought, and symbolism, the course explores the...

[more information]
Greg Barron-Gafford's picture
Greg Barron-Gafford
Associate Professor & Associate Director School of Geography & Development
Email: gregbg@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Laurel Bellante's picture
Laurel Bellante
Assistant Director, Center for Regional Food Studies
Email: bellante@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-0355
Office: ENR2 S-559
[more information]
Alissa Bilfield's picture
Alissa Bilfield
Lecturer, McGuire Center for Entrepreneurship
Email: abilfield@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Megan Carney's picture
Megan Carney
Director, Center for Regional Food Studies
Email: mcarney@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2585
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg. Room 318
[more information]
Debbie Feehs's picture
Debbie Feehs
Program Coordinator
Email: dfeehs@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-4309
Office: ENR 2 S-558
[more information]
Timothy Finan's picture
Timothy Finan
Research Anthropologist, Professor, School of Anthropology, Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP, & Professor, Global Change - GIDP
Email: finan@email.arizona.edu

I have been engaged in food security studies in 30 countries around the world in which the three basic elements of food security:  availability, access, and utlization have been the analytical focus.  The majority of this research has been conducted at both the household level and at the policy...

[more information]
Benjamin Lawrance's picture
Benjamin Lawrance
Professor of African History
Email: benlaw@email.arizona.edu

My research concerns the use of child labor in cocoa plantations, and related labor movements, including human trafficking patterns in West Africa. I have also published on how local foods move around the world and become global via their adoption and adaptation into recipes, restaurant menus,...

[more information]
Matthew Mars's picture
Matthew Mars
Assistant Professor, Agricultural Leadership and Innovation, and Director of Graduate Studies
Email: mmars@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Sallie Martson's picture
Sallie Martson
Professor and Director, UA Community and School Garden Program
Email: marston@email.arizona.edu

My aim in teaching the community and school garden workshop course is to link UA students to the low-income neighborhoods and schools where they might learn to support support community empowerment around gardens.  I one area of my research I ask the what can a garden do? This query is premised...

[more information]
Veronica Mullins's picture
Veronica Mullins
Assistant Professor of Practice
Email: vamullins@email.ariozna.edu
[more information]
Ivy Pike's picture
Ivy Pike
Associate Professor, Anthropology
Email: ilpike@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Joshua Schlachet's picture
Joshua Schlachet
Assistant Professor, East Asian Studies
Email: jschlachet@email.arizona.edu

I am a historian of early modern and modern Japan, specializing in the cultural history of food and nourishment in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. My current project, “Nourishing Life: Diet, Body, and Society in Early Modern Japan (1600-1868)” examines the emergence of dietary “common...

[more information]
Kathleen Schwartzman's picture
Kathleen Schwartzman
Professor, Sociology
Email: kcs@email.ariozna.edu

My research and teaching focus on the role of food imports and exports in development and dependency of lesser developed nations. In essence, I do the political economy of food from a world-system perspective. I have written about Portugal, Cuba, Mexico, and Brazil, and my most recent work...

[more information]
Patricia Sparks's picture
Patricia Sparks
Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Nutritional Sciences
Email: psparks@email.arizona.edu

Nutritional Sciences Profile

[more information]
Cynthia Thomson's picture
Cynthia Thomson
Health Promotion Sciences
Email: cthomson@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Jeremy Vetter's picture
Jeremy Vetter
Associate Professor of History & Director of Undergraduate Studies
Email: jvetter@email.arizona.edu

In addition to teaching a course on Food, Health, and Environment in History, I also have a major research project in progress on the history of food and agriculture on the Great Plains before the Dust Bowl. In my previous work, I have published articles or given conference presentations on the...

[more information]
Anna Walsh's picture
Anna Walsh
Business Manager
Email: walsha@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-6684
[more information]
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences